top of page
Natural Environment Graphic

自然







环境

询问居住在特拉基草原的任何人,他们最喜欢这个地区的什么地方,他们很可能会提到内华达州北部令人惊叹的山景、丰富的河流和小溪、一览无余的景色,以及快速走出去享受这些资源的能力。通常,我们的自然环境是人们在特拉基草原生活、工作、娱乐和逗留的三大原因。

生活质量包括每个人都可以使用的清洁空气和水。这意味着我们可以享受多样化和美丽的土地、植物和动物,这些土地、植物和动物使我们的特拉基草原如此令人向往,并且不同的土地用途支持许多不同类型的积极户外生活方式。​

要了解有关每个指标的更多信息,只需单击图标、图表、地图或图形即可定向到内华达明天.org社区数据门户,您将在其中查看地图、图表、图形、年度比较等。***

***请注意,图表和其他视觉辅助工具可能仅在台式机或笔记本电脑上可见。如果您在移动设备上查看此页面,请切换到台式机或笔记本电脑,以获得最佳查看体验和最方便的信息访问。 

我们好吗?
社区整体自然环境等级

Very Good Face grade

我们好吗?

社区整体自然环境等级

Very Good Rating Scale
A picture of a lake in Nevada.
Natural Environment

为我们的未来喝水

由于每年的降雨量不到 7.5",因此明智地使用我们有限的水资源至关重要。高效的用水和节约用水是确保未来水源的关键。其中一项努力是我们的“活河”系统,它有助于改善特拉基河的水质用途广泛,从饮用水到娱乐再到野生动物栖息地。 

用水需求取决于住宅家庭使用、商品和服务生产中的商业用途以及灌溉(取决于景观和天气)。随着该地区的发展,人口、住房单元和景观美化推动了住宅需求,这是特拉基梅多斯水务局 (TMWA) 系统使用的最重要组成部分。根据 2008-2030水资源计划,TMWA 预计到 2030 年将满足预计的零售用水量,但随着干旱年份的持续,保护措施将发挥更加突出的作用。节水工作也是特拉基河运营协议 (TROA) 下该地区协议的一项关键要求。节约用水有助于降低消费者的成本,因为我们不必建造新的水处理厂,而且我们可以推迟寻找新的供水源。

该指标着眼于特拉基梅多斯水务局辖区内的年用水量。 

Water Consumption

年用水量

自然与健康

物理环境包括我们生活和工作的部分(例如,家庭、建筑物、街道和公园)。环境会影响一个人的身体活动水平和拥有健康生活方式行为的能力。例如,无法进入或不存在的人行道或人行道会增加久坐的习惯。这些习惯会导致肥胖、心血管疾病和糖尿病。有助于健康生活方式行为的其他因素包括进入杂货店和农贸市场、娱乐设施以及清洁和安全的物理环境。

该指标显示根据县健康排名的县物理环境排名。该排名基于从以下指标计算得出的综合综合得分:每日细颗粒物、饮用水违规、严重的住房问题、独自开车上班和独自开车通勤时间长。

Physical Env Ranking

物理环境排名

Washoe County has a physical environment ranking of 15.
Washoe county's physical environment ranks among the worst in Nevada.
Technical note about the physical environment: Counties are ranked on a variety of health measure.
Graph showing the physical environment ranking over years showing notably worse scores.

我们呼吸的空气

生活质量的一个关键指标是空气质量。该地区的空气质量影响着我们更脆弱的公民的健康,并影响了积极的户外生活方式,这对于旅游业和吸引年轻专业人士到该地区很重要。

国家环境空气质量标准衡量该地区影响我们健康和户外生活方式的空气质量,这对于旅游业和吸引年轻专业人士到该地区非常重要。我们经常认为野火是空气污染的主要原因,但该指标也受到以下因素的影响:

  • 天气(例如,大风和扬尘)

  • 车辆行驶里程

  • 拥塞

  • 公共交通工具

  • 替代交通工具

  • 野火、受控烧伤或壁炉产生的烟雾

  • 行业

  • 道路多久打磨一次

该指标着眼于 Washoe 县的空气质量指数。

Air Quality

沃肖县空气质量

公园和开放空间

国家公园和娱乐协会建议每 1,000 人拥有 10 英亩的社区公园和 20 英亩的区域公园。沃肖县排名不到这个数字的一半。 

进入公园可以在所有季节提供户外活动和健康的生活机会。 Truckee Meadows 区域计划促进了与公园、自行车道、人行道、小径和社区设施相连的综合开放空间和绿道网络。

需要持续开发专用于公园的土地,以维持足够的公园用地。增加邻里社区公园用地库存的是非常小的公园、特殊用途的公园、公共高尔夫球场、未开发的公园用地和开放空间。这些土地提供了娱乐机会,有助于我们的户外体验,应该在公园规划中得到认可。然而,它们并不提供无限制的公共使用和访问,也不总是提供邻里和社区公园的标准设施。因此,它们在库存中单独处理。 

该指标显示一个Reno 和 Sparks 市以及整个 Washoe 县的每 1,000 名居民都有 1000 英亩的公园用地。国家娱乐规划协会建议每 1,000 名居民总共可使用 6.25 至 10.50 英亩的公园。

Parks Acreage

沃肖县公园的种植面积

Washoe county park average per 1,000 people: 3.94
Washoe is trending downward and is not maintaining a good park to population ratio.
Technical note: This info is located in the City of Sparks Comprehensive Annual Report.
Graph showing park acreage per 1,000 people since 1997. Washoe park ratio has decreased since 2003.

我们的纯净水

特拉基梅多斯水务局 (TMWA) 的大部分水来自特拉基河,另外还有来自深水含水层的地下水需求。在干旱年份,这大约是特拉基河总流量的 8%,而在非干旱年份则更少。在典型的一年中,TMWA 仅使用特拉基河总流量的 3-9% 来满足客户的需求。

水处理比防止污染更昂贵。这对于年降雨量不到 7.5" 的地区至关重要,该地区还支持鱼类和野生动物栖息地以及全年休闲活动。因此,TMWA 是安全用水伙伴关系成员,并在不存在立法和法规的情况下实施预防计划增加饮用水对微生物污染的保护。自 2000 年以来,TMWA 的饮用水继续完全符合所有 EPA 和内华达州标准和法规。查看 TMWA 的特拉基草地流域地图/视频 了解更多信息。

Drinking water

沃肖县饮用水质量

Washoe County Water Quality Data Test Results for 2020
Inorganic contaminants and other contaminants  in Washoe county water (Table)

关键要点

总体而言,通常为帮助确定该报告而发布的大部分数据和研究在 2020 年不可用或未更新。世界上的大部分精力都用于追踪、生存和从 COVID-19 中恢复,以至于重要的报告和研究项目被搁置一旁.尽管存在挑战,但本报告的准备工作还是发现了几个关键要点。

  • 虽然特拉基梅多斯水务局的水产量在 2019 年和 2020 年高于消费量,但从 2019 年到 2020 年,零售用水量和人均用水量有所增加。 

  • 2019 年之前,零售和个人用水趋势自 2012 年以来一直呈下降趋势。随着人口的增长,这是一个需要遵循的重要指标。

  • 在 1 到 20 的范围内,Washoe 县在评估物理环境时的评分为 15,该环境衡量了人行道、开放空间和娱乐区的可达性、空气质量、住房问题、拼车人数以及平均每日通勤距离。此评级低于内华达州其他县。 

  • 随着大风、沙尘暴和野火等极端天气事件的增加,瓦肖县的空气质量是一个值得关注的指标。 2020 年,由于极端天气事件和臭氧增加,颗粒物含量较高的天数有所增加。 

  • Washoe 县的公园和开放空间少于其规模所建议的数量。自 2009 年以来,开放空间和公园面积一直在稳步减少,这可能会对健康和生活质量产生不利影响。

  • 2020 年,Washoe 县的饮用水质量没有违反 EPA 的污染物标准。然而,无机、有机和放射性容器的记录处于可接受的最高水平,并且随着气候变化,饮用水质量仍然是一个需要跟踪的关键指标。

 

该地区的气候适应能力将继续极大地决定那些以特拉基草原为家的人们的生活质量。此页面上的数据集对于维持繁荣的社区和经济至关重要。物理环境为新老企业奠定了基础,使我们地区成为热门目的地。我们的地区将需要监控这些数据集,并利用这些信息为不断变化的自然世界中的城市发展找到复杂的解决方案,从而成为西方的领导者。

TMT Sun Logo

社区
聚光灯

Truckee Meadow's Parks Foundation Logo

教育一个

可持续内华达州

Truckee Meadows Trails Challenge 建立了一个充满热情的户外人士社区,他们致力于保护环境。在过去的一年中,基金会已经确定并实施了新的战略,以对我们社区成员的环境保护行为产生持久影响。

Truckee Meadows Parks Foundation 确保社区中的每个人都能获得和吸引户外休闲机会。 Truckee Meadows Trails Challenge 面临的最大障碍是容量。对该计划感兴趣的人比人员配置允许的要多。

特拉基梅多斯公园基金会和特拉基梅多斯步道工作组合作聘请了一名区域步道协调员来管理区域步道和绿道流程的总体规划。这一实施对于开发将社区与自然环境连接起来的可持续步道系统具有重要意义。

Kids at a Truckee Meadows park.
bottom of page

Natural Environment Graphic

NATURAL















ENVIRONMENT

Ask anyone living in the Truckee Meadows what they love most about this area and chances are that they will mention northern Nevada's stunning mountain vistas, abundant rivers and creeks, sweeping vistas, and the ability to get out and enjoy these resources in quick measure. Typically, our natural environment ranks in the top three reasons why people live, work, play, and stay in the Truckee Meadows.

Quality of life includes air and water that are clean and accessible to everyone. It means that we can enjoy the diverse and beautiful lands, plants, and animals that make our Truckee Meadows so desirable and that varied land uses support many different types of active outdoor lifestyles.​

To learn more about each indicator, simply click on the icon, chart, map, or graph to be directed to the NevadaTomorrow.org Community Data Portal, where you will see maps, charts, graphs, year-over-year comparisons, and more.***

***Please note that graphs and other visual aids may only be visible on a desktop or laptop computer. If you are viewing this page on a mobile device, please switch to a desktop or laptop computer for the best viewing experience and the most access to information. 

HOW ARE WE DOING?

Overall Community Natural Environment Grade

Very Good Face grade

HOW ARE WE DOING?

Overall Community Natural Environment Grade

Very Good Rating Scale
A picture of a lake in Nevada.
 

WATER FOR OUR FUTURE

With less than 7.5" of rainfall per year, using our limited water resources wisely is crucial. Efficient water consumption and conservation are key to ensuring water sources for the future. One effort is our "living river" system that helps improve Truckee River water quality for many uses, from drinking water to recreation to wildlife habitat. 



Water demand depends on residential household use, commercial use in the production of goods and services, and irrigation (dependent upon landscaping and weather). As the region grows, the population, housing units, and landscaping drive residential demand, the most significant component of Truckee Meadows Water Authority (TMWA) system use. According to the 2008-2030 Water Resource Plan, TMWA expects to meet projected retail water use through 2030, but conservation measures will play a more prominent role as the drought years continue. Water conservation efforts are also a key requirement of the region's agreements under the Truckee River Operating Agreement (TROA). Water conservation helps keep the costs down for consumers since we do not have to build a new water treatment plant, and we can delay finding new water supply sources.



This indicator looks at the annual water consumption in the Truckee Meadows Water Authority's jurisdiction. 

 

Annual Water Consumption

NATURE & HEALTH

The physical environment includes the parts of where we live and work (e.g., homes, buildings, streets, and parks). The environment influences a person's level of physical activity and ability to have healthy lifestyle behaviors. For example, inaccessible or nonexistent sidewalks or walking paths increase sedentary habits. These habits contribute to obesity, cardiovascular disease, and diabetes. Other factors that contribute to healthy lifestyle behaviors are access to grocery stores and farmer's markets, recreation facilities, and the presence of a clean and safe physical environment.

This indicator shows the ranking of the county's physical environment according to the County Health Rankings. The ranking is based on a summary composite score calculated from the following measures: daily fine particulate matter, drinking water violations, severe housing problems, driving alone to work, and long commute while driving alone.

 

Physical Environment Ranking

Washoe County has a physical environment ranking of 15.
Washoe county's physical environment ranks among the worst in Nevada.
Technical note about the physical environment: Counties are ranked on a variety of health measure.
Graph showing the physical environment ranking over years showing notably worse scores.

THE AIR WE BREATHE

One key indicator of quality of life is air quality. The region’s air quality affects the health of our more vulnerable citizens and impacts an active outdoor lifestyle important for tourism and attracting young professionals to the region.

The National Ambient Air Quality Standards measure the region’s air quality affecting our health and outdoor lifestyle, important for tourism and attracting young professionals to the region. We often think of wildfires being the leading cause of air pollution but this indicator is also influenced by the following:

  • Weather (e.g., high wind and blowing dust)

  • Vehicle miles traveled

  • Congestion

  • Public transportation

  • Alternative transportation

  • Smoke from wildfires, controlled burns, or fireplaces

  • Industries

  • How often the roads are sanded

This indicator looks at the Air Quality Index for Washoe County.

 

Washoe County Air Quality

PARKS & OPEN SPACE

The National Parks & Recreation Association recommends 10 acres of community parks and 20 acres of regional parks per 1,000 population. Washoe County ranks with less than half that amount. 

Access to parks provides outside activities and healthy living opportunities during all seasons. The Truckee Meadows Regional Plan promotes an integrated open space and greenways network linked to parks, bike routes, pedestrian walkways, trails, and neighborhood facilities.

Development acres dedicated to parks on an ongoing basis are needed to maintain adequate parklands. Augmenting the neighborhood-community parkland inventory are very small parks, special purpose parks, public golf courses, undeveloped parkland, and open space. These lands provide recreational opportunities, contribute to our outdoor experience, and should be recognized in park planning. They do not, however, provide unlimited public use and access, nor do they always offer the standard amenities of a neighborhood and community park. They are thus handled separately in the inventory. 

This indicator shows acres of parkland available for every 1,000 residents in the cities of Reno and Sparks, and all of Washoe County. The National Recreation Planning Association recommends a total of 6.25 to 10.50 acres of parkland be available for every 1,000 residents.

 

Washoe County Park Acreage Rate

Washoe county park average per 1,000 people: 3.94
Washoe is trending downward and is not maintaining a good park to population ratio.
Technical note: This info is located in the City of Sparks Comprehensive Annual Report.
Graph showing park acreage per 1,000 people since 1997. Washoe park ratio has decreased since 2003.

OUR PURE WATER

The majority of Truckee Meadows Water Authority (TMWA) water comes from the Truckee River, with additional demand from groundwater from deep-water aquifers. This is approximately 8% of the total flow of the Truckee River in a drought year and less in non-drought years. During a typical year, TMWA only uses 3-9% of the total flow of the Truckee River to meet customers' needs.

Water treatment is more expensive than preventing pollution. This is critical in a region with less than 7.5" of annual rainfall, one that also supports fish and wildlife habitats and year-round recreation. Consequently, TMWA is a Partnership for Safe Water member and implements prevention programs where legislation and regulation do not exist to increase drinking water protection against microbial contamination. Since 2000, TMWA's drinking water has continued to completely comply with all EPA and State of Nevada standards and regulations. Check out TMWA's Truckee Meadows watershed map/video for more information.

 

Washoe County Drinking Water Quality

Washoe County Water Quality Data Test Results for 2020
Inorganic contaminants and other contaminants  in Washoe county water (Table)

Key Takeaways

Overall, much of the data and research typically published to help determine this report were unavailable or not updated in 2020. So much of the world's energy went into tracking, surviving, and recovering from COVID-19 that significant reports and research projects were set aside. Despite the challenges, this preparation for this report uncovered several key takeaways.

  • While Truckee Meadows Water Authority's water production was higher than consumption in 2019 and 2020, there was an increase in retail use and gallons of water per person use from 2019 to 2020. 

  • Prior to 2019, the trends for water use by both retail and individuals had been on a downward trajectory since 2012. As the population grows, this is an important metric to follow.

  • On a scale of 1 to 20, Washoe County's rating was 15 when assessing the physical environment, which measures access to sidewalks, open space and recreation areas, air quality, housing issues, number of carpoolers, and distance of the average daily commute. This rating is lower than other counties in Nevada. 

  • Air Quality in Washoe County is a metric to watch as extreme weather events such as high wind and dust storms and wildfires increase. In 2020 there was an increase in the number of days with higher levels of particulate matter due to extreme weather events and an increase in ozone. 

  • Washoe County has fewer parks and open spaces than is recommended for its size. There has been a steady decrease in open space and park acreage since 2009, which can have adverse health and quality of life impacts.

  • In 2020, drinking water quality in Washoe County had no violations of the EPA standards for contaminants. However, inorganic, organic, and radioactive containments were recorded at the highest acceptable level, and with climate changes, drinking water quality continues to be a critical metric to track.

 

The region's climate resiliency will continue to greatly determine the quality of life for those who call Truckee Meadows their home. The data sets on this page are essential to maintaining a thriving community and economy. The physical environment creates a foundation for old and new businesses alike, making our region a sought-after destination. Our region will need to monitor these data sets and use this information to find complex solutions for urban development in a changing natural world to be a leader in the west.

TMT Sun Logo

COMMUNITY
SPOTLIGHT

Truckee Meadow's Parks Foundation Logo

Educating for a

Sustainable Nevada

The Truckee Meadows Trails Challenge builds a community of passionate, outdoor people who are invested in protecting their environment. Throughout the past year, the foundation has identified and implemented new strategies for making a lasting impact on our community members' behavior to protect the environment.

The Truckee Meadows Parks Foundation ensures that outdoor recreation opportunities are accessible and inviting for everyone in the community. The biggest hurdle the Truckee Meadows Trails Challenge faces is capacity. There are more individuals interested in the program than staffing allows.

The Truckee Meadows Parks Foundation and the Truckee Meadows Trails Working Group collaboratively hired a Regional Trails Coordinator to manage the master planning of the regional trails and greenways process. This implementation will be significant in developing a sustainable trail system that connects the community to the natural environment.

Kids at a Truckee Meadows park.